We’ve been looking for you.

Unexpected Guests

I think I would have been terrified if it hadn’t looked so normal.

A young man and woman were just sitting in my living room, eating two slices of cake I’m fairly certain hadn’t come from my cupboard. They looked as if they were about my age.

“…I’m telling you, there’s no way he could have made that jump. It was his first time. He couldn’t do everything right.” The young man took another bite of cake.

“Yeah, but he was The One. He’s the guy who’s supposed to save the world.”

I just stood there. What could I do? Could I sneak into the kitchen and grab a knife? Lock myself in the toilet and call the police?

“Uh, Nick?”

Too late. She had seen me.

As they both got up, I immediately took a step backwards.

“It’s OK,” the young man – Nick – said. He held his hands up, palms outwards. “No weapons, see? We’re not going to hurt you.”

“Who are you?” I demanded. “What do you want? How did you even get in here?” I’d double-locked the house, I know I had.

“Well, that’s quite an interesting story,” the young woman replied, smiling awkwardly. “My name’s Abigail and this is my brother Nick, and we need your help.”

“Actually, we’ve kind of been looking for you,” admitted Nick. “You don’t recognise us, do you?”

I shook my head.

Abigail twisted her fingers together. “Last Thursday evening ring any bells?”

“…That was you?

“Yeah.” Nick nodded solemnly.

“OK. I’m listening.” I straightened my back and looked at both of them. “What do you want me to do?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

